Donna Tartt Shrine

Donna Tartt in the News
The Goldfinch: A Novel by Donna Tartt
Amazon

The Goldfinch: A Novel by Donna Tartt
Release date: October 22, 2013

The author of the classic bestsellers The Secret History and The Little Friend returns with a brilliant, highly anticipated new novel.

A young boy in New York City, Theo Decker, miraculously survives an accident that takes the life of his mother. Alone and abandoned by his father, Theo is taken in by a friend's family and struggles to make sense of his new life. In the years that follow, he becomes entranced by one of the few things that reminds him of his mother: a small, mysteriously captivating painting that ultimately draws Theo into the art underworld.

Composed with the skills of a master, The Goldfinch is a haunted odyssey through present-day America, and a drama of almost unbearable acuity and power. It is a story of loss and obsession, survival and self-invention, and the enormous power of art.


TAPinto.net

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
TAPinto.net
As a youngster, back in the summers of 1964 and 1965, my parents took me to the New York Worlds Fair several times. At my insistence, each tour of the enthralling sojourn into the world of the future began with a visit into the past at the Vatican ...

and more »


Montclaire News

President's Opening Day Address - Montclair State University
Montclaire News
So, my beach book this August was The Goldfinch, for which Donna Tartt won the Pullitzer Prize. The book is a brilliantly told but maddening story (reminiscent to me of Fielding) that has, at its center, the 17th-century painting by Fabritius of a ...

and more »


Bustle

17 Of September 2015's Best Books
Bustle
Fans of Marisha Pessl, Donna Tartt, and Nicole Krauss, take note: with her debut The Suicide of Claire Bishop, Carmiel Banasky's name will be mentioned confidently alongside these well-loved writers. The twisted story begins in 1959, when Claire Bishop ...



Livres: Donna Tartt peint le destin démesuré...
Courrier International Blogs (Blog)
Dire de manière mystérieuse que cette citation du livre dit ou ne dit pas le dernier roman de l'Américaine Donna Tartt. Une phrase-clé pour réduire 1100 pages. Dire ici que je ne résumerai donc pas ces 1100 pages du "Chardonneret". Non pas que c'est ...



Mediafax

Romanul "Sticletele", de Donna Tartt, câştigător al premiului Pulitzer, va fi ecranizat
Mediafax
"Sticletele", cel de-al treilea roman al Donnei Tartt, a atras deja laudele criticilor, o serie de nominalizări şi un premiu Pulitzer, iar compania americană Warner Bros. a achiziţionat drepturile de ecranizare a cărţii.
Castigatorul Premiului Pulitzer 2014, romanul Sticletele, de Donna Tartt, va fi ecranizatHotNews
Romanul câștigător al Premiului Pulitzer 2014, ”Sticletele”, de Donna Tartt, va fi ecranizatCinemaRx

all 6 news articles »


New York Times

Stephen King: Can a Novelist Be Too Productive?
New York Times
Donna Tartt, one of the best American novelists to emerge in the last 50 years, has published just three novels since 1992. Jonathan Franzen, the only American novelist who is her equal, has published five (his latest, “Purity,” will appear on Tuesday).



Bustle

11 Books That Will Get You In The Fall Spirit
Bustle
... read on a regular day, but with a pumpkin candle or a pumpkin spice latte by your side; fall is the season for reading. From Stephen King to a revisit to Hogwarts, and from Donna Tartt to Daphne du Maurier, here are 11 books that will get you in ...



"Le maître des illusions" de Donna Tartt : un premier roman à l'atmosphère très british !
L'Express
1540-1 Un campus situé dans le Vermont, un groupe de six étudiants apprenant le grec ancien avec un professeur atypique, des expériences métaphysiques aboutissant à la mort sauvage d'un fermier local… Le décor est posé, et le narrateur, Richard, ...



Le Chardonneret de Donna Tartt ou la magie de l'art
Mediapart
Le pouvoir de l'art est immense, c'est ce que découvrira Théodore Decker, le héros du roman de Donna Tartt: "Le Chardonneret", car l'art parle directement au coeur, ce "coeur périlleux" blotti sous la chair et les os, il suffit d'ouvrir un espace entre ...

and more »


The Indian Express

In defence of prolificacy
The Indian Express
Donna Tartt, one of the best American novelists to emerge in the last 50 years, has published just three novels since 1992. Jonathan Franzen, the only American novelist who is her equal, has published five (his latest, Purity, will appear on Tuesday ...
Can a novelist be too productive?The Straits Times

all 2 news articles »

Google News

News Archive

What's Donna Tartt Working on Now?

With The Little Friend finally complete, Tartt is now reported to be working on a version of the myth of Daedalus and Icarus, due to be published by Canongate as part of a series that will feature updated fables by Philip Pullman, Margaret Atwood, Jeanette Winterson and JM Coetzee.

The Little Friend

The hugely anticipated new novel by the author of The Secret History a best-seller nationwide and around the world, and one of the most astonishing debuts in recent times. Read all about it here.

Read the Prologue.

The Secret History - the movie

Director: Scott Hicks

Screenplay: Christopher Hampton

Runtime: 91 mins


A long-planned film of the book dropped into one of the most protracted developments hells in Hollywood history. The project passed through the indecisive hands of Alan Pakula, Christopher Hampton and Scott Hicks to end up (possibly...) as a Warner-Miramax venture with the sibling duo of Gwyneth Paltrow as producer and Jake Paltrow as director.

- Boyd Tonkin, independent.co.uk, The Secret History: Whatever happened to Donna Tartt?, May 21, 2002


The best-selling Donna Tartt novel The Secret History continues its circuitous path towards the silver screen. Hyphenate Alan J. Pakula was the first to set to work on the project, initially planning to direct it, later merely to produce. His untimely death is but the latest in a series of setbacks for the piece, which has seen drafts by Rafael Yglesias, Joan Didion and John Gregory Dunne, and Christopher Hampton. Shine helmer Scott Hicks had expressed some interest in the pic, which tells the chilly tale of five students who are caught in the thrall of a brilliant classics professor, only to accidentally commit a murder while carying out an ancient Greek ritual.

- inhollywood.com, the development report, April 1999

Donna Tartt, on her new novel, tentatively titled "Tribulation", due out early 2002

Excerpt from the interview

"When I was writing this book I was thinking very much about Stevenson, who I love, very much about Treasure Island and the pirates, and you know, Long John Silver, - books that I loved as a child. This is a book about children, but it's not a book for children. It's a frightening book. It's a scary book. It's fairly dark. It's about children coming into contact with adults. It doesn't take place wholly in the world of children (when I say children, I mean twelve years old...) And coming into contact with the world of adults in a very frightening way. (...) It's finished. I'm doing the edits now, the rewriting..." - Donna Tartt

The Secret History of Donna Tartt

by Mark Coles, Arts Correspondent

BBC

April 2001

"...Donna Tartt is preparing her comeback too... She has finished her second novel - well almost - 'I'm editing it down at the moment,' she says.
'It's a book about children - but not for children - its a frightening scary book about children coming into contact with the world of adults in a very frightening way'. So why had it taken so long to write? 'I can't write quickly. If I could write a book a year and maintain the same quality I'd be happy. I'd love to write a book a year but I don't think I'd have any fans'. Donna Tartt's new novel - with the provisional title 'Tribulation' is scheduled for publication early next year."

Read it

Whatever Happened to Donna Tartt?

BBC

April 2001

Listen to it

Comments
Leave a comment