menu Language Is A Virus

Poetry Guide: Spanish Poetry

Spanish poetry is the poetic tradition of Spain. It may include elements of Spanish literature, and literatures written in languages of Spain other than Castilian, such as Catalan literature.

See also: Spanish American poetry.

Arabic & Hebrew poetry during the Moorish occupation

Gil Vincente
Cristóbal de Castillejo
Luis de Gongora y Argote
Lope de Vega Carpio
Tirso de Molina

(This sub-category needs attention)

After 1492

The burning of the Library of Granada, in 1499 or 1500, by the Archbishop of Granada, Cisneros, to destroy its homoerotic poetry.
(This sub-category needs attention)

1898 until 1926

The Generation of 1898, mostly novelists but some poets.

Antonio Machado

(This sub-category needs attention)

1927 until 1936

The Generation of 1927, mostly poets. Many were also involved with the production of music and theatre.

Federico García Lorca
Vicente Aleixandre
Pedro Salinas
Jorge Guillen
Rafael Alberti
Manuel de Falla; influential on poets, for his vision of Moorish Spain.
Juan Ramon Jimenez
Luis Cernuda

(This sub-category needs attention)

1939 until 1975

Poets during the Spanish Civil War, the World War II and under General Franco in peacetime.

Luis Buñuel
Lluis Llach
Jaime Gil de Biedma

(This sub-category needs attention)

1975 until today

Post-Franco and Contemporary Spanish Poets.

Luisa Castro
Isla Correyero
Luis García Montero
Clara Janés
Ana Rossetti
Jenaro Talens

See also

Further reading